a hero comes home

“Bomboy, Welcome, how was the trip”, that was Akan’s mother talking with gleaming eyes. Mama, I am here to rest, I don’t want the whole village pouring in here’’, Akan warned in response. Akan just returned form Lagos with new suspicions. He knew his mother would not heed his warning, but he had to try anyway.

The next morning cacophonous conversations in the living room brought him to consciousness.

“Brother, people are here to greet you”! That was his little niece, peering through the door. He dragged himself up, trying to ignore the rage building up in him.

Most of them where drunk or close to it when they left at about midday, but before chief Akpan okon left he had a proposal for Akan: “Look, my son I want to expand my poultry , I need a hundred thousand Naira from you. “Uncle I can’t afford that!” Akan exclaimed. “Where do you want me to get that sum from”? “You don’t have to give me all at once”, Chief pointed out, “You can give me in installments”. Akan knew there was a dilemma heading his way. Chief Akpan Okon was his uncle who prided himself in bragging to any willing ear “I trained your father!” Giving him the money was not really the problem, there where other issues.

“Mama I can’t give any body in this village money again”, Akan told his mother later that night. She was shocked and tried to persuade him to rescind his decision. After a while he blurted: “Do you remember Efa, he died after buying a bus for his uncle. What of Anietie who paid school fees for all his late brother’s children, is he not paralyzed and bed ridden today? Did Eno not die in a horrible car crash after giving money to chief Ime for his business?” “What are you insinuating my son?” Mama interjected. “You can’t mean what I am thinking”, she quipped. Akan then delivered the killer blow: “Mama, all the elders and chiefs in this village are agents of the devil! They collect money from us and then attack us with juju. My pastor saw it in a vision and has told me not to help any one in this village anymore”. Even when his mother reminded him, that he was the hero of his people, his die was already cast. “I will rather use my money to sow a seed with my pastor”, was his parting shot.

At dawn he sneaked out of the village under the cover of darkness, in a bid to escape the evil charms of the villagers.

Two nights later, he lay cold on the slab at the general hospital morgue.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “a hero comes home”

  1. namse Says:

    quite a touching story, i cant believe i wrote it!

  2. Stan One Says:

    Such a power packed,inspiring n untold story of an african heritage.
    Kip up d gud writes.

Leave a Reply

